Troy Robinson Elected Chairman of Independent Bankers Assn. of Texas

President & COO of BankTexas, IBAT Chairman

President & COO of BankTexas, IBAT Chairman

BankTexas Banker Elected Chairman of Independent Bankers Assn. of Texas 

IBAT Selects New Board Members During 38th Annual Convention

AUSTIN, Texas — Troy Robinson of BankTexas was elected chairman of the Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) during IBAT’s 38th Annual Convention held in Austin. The Quitman banker will serve the highest level of leadership for the nation’s largest state community banking association through 2012-2013.

Robinson,the current president and COO of BankTexas, began his banking career in 1981. Since then he has worked at BankTexas in operations, information technology and lending. He became an officer in 1984, vice president in 1989, senior vice president in 1994, and president and CEO 1998. He assumed the position of COO in 2013.

In addition to his professional achievements, Robinson is dedicated to his community. He served as mayor pro-tem of Quitman and has also been on the board of directors of the Quitman Chamber of Commerce, Quitman Public Library, Quitman Industrial Foundation and Quitman Rotary Club. In the larger East Texas region, Robinson has been a board member of the East Texas Development Corporation, East Texas Mental Health and Hochheim Prairie Mutual Insurance Company.

Other board officers named to join Robinson include Chairman-Elect Jay Gober of First State Bank in Graham, Vice Chairman John Jay of Roscoe State Bank in Roscoe and Secretary-Treasurer Rogers Pope, Jr. of Texas Bank and Trust in Longview.

Joining the board executives are newly elected members Kyle Irwin of Gruver State Bank in Gruver, Peter Bennis of Pinnacle Bank in Keene, Tommy McCulloch of Fidelity Bank in Wichita Falls, Stan Pinkham of Texas Leadership Bank in Royce City, Marvin E. Singleton III of Citizens National Bank in Waxahachie and Tom Turner of First State Bank in Abernathy.

Also presented during IBAT’s Annual Convention was the coveted IBAT Chairman’s Award. Outgoing IBAT Chairman Scott Heitkamp recognized Al Jones, chairman of American Bank in Corpus Christi, with this prestigious honor. Heitkamp noted Jones’ many contributions to IBAT, including serving as chairman from 2006-2007, during the award presentation.

Austin-based IBAT represents more than 2,000 independent banks and branches in 700 Texas communities.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s